Stupid mistakes I made as a beginner ….

…… and do not do anymore

Here are a list of some of the stupids mistakes I made as a beginer, and I am sure I am not the only one who did

  • Long exposure – I forgot on at least 3 occasions to block my rear visor when I was doing a long exposure photo. The result was that I got all sort of strange light on my photos. Never forget to block your rear visor with a visor cap or black electrical tape.

X-DSC_0003_4444 -1

  • I wanted to do a daytime long exposure of a river, I drove 30 minutes to discover, once there, that I forgot my neutral density filter at home. A neutral density filter is THE tool to give you a long exposure duing the day ….. so down the river went the long exposure and  I felt a little bit looser . Before leaving home, take the two minutes to check a second time if you have all the gears you need.
  • Another time, I drove 45 minutes to get a beautiful sunset photo at a particular location, got there, took 2 or 3 shots and the battery just died on me. The battery charge indicator on my Nikon is not really accurate. It shows fully charge until you get close to 30 % charge and then die down quite rapidly … two days later I bought myself a second battery and it’s always in my backpack.
  • I was taking photos of some birds and made all the proper setting ( fast shutter speed and a low ISO), took some photos and then moved under the trees canopy without changing the settings. When I got home I discovered that all my photos under the trees were way too dark. Now I use the option auto-ISO so when I moved to a spot where the light is lower I do not need to lower my shutter speed or go to a larger aperture. I let the camera boost my ISO automatically. I also take the time between the shots to look at the details of the photo on my rear viewer, you get hints if you are OK or off track.
  • It happened to me more than one time that I forgot to adjust the settings of the camera before starting taking photos. I was just too eager to get into action and shoot. The problem was the settings were not for what I was shooting that day, white balance for cloudy day and I was under a bright sun, slow shutter speed for a fast pace event. Now I take the 30 seconds it takes to adjust the proper settings and make sure I won’t scrap some shots.
  • Thinking that all cameras were created equal …. no they are not.
  • Not paying attention of what is behind the subject, you just need a small butt crack fifteen feet behind you subject to ruin your photo. Never mind how small it is, some background details can attract all the attention of the viewer.
  • Starting to speak to a photographer that is beside you aiming at the same subject  and thinking that all photographers can be friends ….. nope ….. some have such a big ego I wonder how they fit in their car.
  • Thinking that others photographers won’t judge you because you have a crop frame camera, again nope, they will judge you but you know what …. but the pleasure is double when you are able to take a photo that they can’t get with their full frame camera. And if you know that they know that you’ve pulled something better with your crop frame than their full frame, as you go by them sing the song “I’m singing in the rain”, this will triple your pleasure.

But as beginner one mistake I did not do was “not reading my user guide” and some books on “how to take photos” …. when you know how your camera work, you will improve the quality of your photos.

7 thoughts on “Stupid mistakes I made as a beginner ….

  1. I’m guilty of many of these mistakes, and more. I do have a full frame camera but only because I had lenses from my 35mm film days I wanted to use. I have a crop frame camera, too, any I doubt if anybody can tell the difference between the two by looking at the photos.

    Like

    1. I will upgrade to a full frame early 2016, I thnk the majors diffrences between full-frame and crop-frame is in low light conditions and the autofocus system. I will certainly make a comparison and write something here.

      Like

      1. I don’t own a ND filter yet. Have any recommendations? I have a CP filter, and have noticed a nice difference when shooting mid-day. It helped a little when shooting waterfall shots mid-day, but not enough. On our trip I was wishing I would have bought an ND filter before we left.

        Like

      2. I have a ND 8 filter which is not enough to have daytime long exposure. I do not use ND filter very often when I looked at my options I went with an ND fader (Variable neutral density filter) which is more versatile and gives me more option. Depending of the size of the lens ND filter can be quite expensive for something that I rarely use. The problem with fader is you lose some quality in the sharpness of your photos but you can still get some very beautiful shot. It’s just that your photos won’t be published in a magazine but will look great in a frame in your kitchen. I have the 52 mm Tiffen ND fader which gives me good results. The only advice I can give you is do not good for the cheapest one. You can certainly get a good one for under 100 $.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I didn’t know that image quality can be compromised but that makes sense. I looked at a 4-10 ND (maybe it’s a fader?) and I think it was 240 bucks. So, I thought I’d put it on my Christmas list. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

