When HDR is the solution

I am not a big fan of HDR photos. When I started working my photos with post-processing software I though HDR photos were pretty cool but after some time, I realised they are just too funky, too artificial. I have to admit in high contrast situation like sunrise and sunset, it is probably the best option. Below you’ll see the same photo with 4 different post-production settings. I took the photo very early at sunrise. The sun was barely popping from behind the mountain.

No increase in the exposure and trying to keep the sky blue

DSC_0003_20160 -3

With an increase of the exposure to make the grass green but the sky is too bright

DSC_0003_20160 -2

Slight HDR to enhance all the colors and contrast

DSC_0003_20160_Detail

And the all-out version Play that funky colors (music) white boy

DSC_0003_20160_Localtone

 

6 thoughts on “When HDR is the solution

  1. I use HDR quite a lot. Over time I’ve started using gentler settings in Photomatix with better results. I think the best HDR images are those that don’t shout “HDR”. Do you follow Trey Radcliffe and his @stuck in customs” site? He gives amazing guidance on HDR.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

