2015 Preston Street Criterium

Some photos taken at the Preston Street Criterium in Ottawa

I learned a lesson today, in the world where cameras have automatic focus, sometime you must use manual focus. When you take photos at a fast shutter speed, you need a wide aperture, especially on cloudy day like today, and you get a shallow depth of field. When cyclists are coming at you at 40 km/hr, the autofocus of my camera was not fast enough to keep with them. Next time I will have to choose the point where I want to exactly take the photos, set focus manually and then I should get better results.

X-DSC_0317_13365 -1

DSC_0311_13359 -1

X-DSC_0484_13532 -1

Speed

X-DSC_0155_13203 -1X-DSC_0459_13507 -1

3 thoughts on “2015 Preston Street Criterium

    1. No panning was done on these photos, I was shooting at a very high shutter speed ( between 1/750 s and 1/1500 s) except for the before last photo where I deliberately adjust my shutter speed at 1/20 s at 60 mm to give a blurred effect. The blurred effect on the background was probably because my hands moved a little. Now why all the cyclists are blurred except the second one that is not so blurred on that before last photo, I have no idea. I took 10 photos like that and on all the photos, all the cyclists are blurred except the second cyclist on this one. I guess to get this effect I had to press at the exact moment and the cyclist had to be at the exact spot where she was, so it is pure luck …. thanks for stopping by

      Like

Leave a Reply

