Macro lens, first test – Depth of field (part II)

This is the second post of my first tests with my new 85 mm macro lens. The second surprise I found with this lens is the very narrow depth of field when at full aperture. Although these are the most artistic photos, they do show the depth of field of the lens. It’s 4 photos of the same ring, taken at different apertures, no changes were done afterwards with a software. If you can count in inches the depth of field of a non-macro lens at close range, with a macro lens it’s within half of an inch at close range, much thinner than a regular lens. You have to make sure you take your focus at the right spot, otherwise you will not get the desire result.

The maximum aperture on my lens is  f/4 but at the distance I took those photos, the maximum paerture was f 4.8. I just can picture the depth of field you can get with an 105 mm f/2.8.

f/4.8 – 250 ISO

f4.8

f/11 – 250 ISO

f11

f/29 – 1000 ISO

f29f/40-1000 ISO

f40

5 thoughts on “Macro lens, first test – Depth of field (part II)

  1. Oh yeah Nelson, the narrow depth of field is a difficult thing to tame in macrophotography.
    But a low aperture like f20 (I am surprise my reflex go until f22 😉 I didn’t know more it was possible) it is not the solution, because in the center of the image it goes to blur…). There is a technique call focus stacking (I never did it but I will) it is better.
    It is an interesting post, thanks for that.

    Like

    1. J’ai remarqué qu’à grande ouverture mettre en focus manuel permet de meilleur résultat et permet de couvrir une plus grande zone près du focus désiré. J’avais déjà lu sur le focus stacking mais j’avais oublié. C’est certainement quelque chose que je vais tenter dans un avenir rapproché

      Ma lentille 85 mm peut aller jusqu’à f/45 comme ouverture, je ne pensais pas que ça pouvait aller si petit

      Liked by 1 person

      1. En macro je suis toujours en mise au point manuelle car sinon l’appareil “patine” et c’est difficile pour lui de déterminer la zone de netteté et en général il ne la fait pas où on le souhaite.
        f4,5 c’est déjà beaucoup en effet, gérer la mise au point à cette grande ouverture est déjà difficile, mon objectif ouvre à 2,8 mais je ne monte que très rarement à ce chiffre ou sinon en très faible luminosité (mais dans ces cas là je met le flash) car sinon il n’y a pas grand chose de net. Cela permet seulement d’avoir une qualité de lentille meilleure ou de faire des effets très particuliers.
        Bon dimanche Nelson

        Like

  2. In this case Nelson, I think a F11 aperture looks pretty good and gives a good depth of field. I would personally take macro photo at around F11 to keep the DOF and to keep subject foreground’s details.

    Have a good day and get ready for the snowstorm that coming tonight.

    Un p’tit challenge? Je sors prendre des photos pendant la tempête. J’attends les tiennes! 🙂

    Like

    1. Effectivement f/11 semble un bon compromis. Je suis allé prendre des photos en plein durant la tempête en pm et finalement il n’y avait rien de trop bon qui est ressorti de tout cela.

      Like

Leave a Reply

