Cemetery

I took these photos at a local cemetery and it was a self imposed workshop with the depth of field (DOF). These were taken with my Nikon 50 mm f/1.8 D. I deliberately set it at the widest aperture (f/1.8 – f/2.2) to get the shallowest DOF and learn from the experience. The wide aperture of this lens makes it interesting if you want add some effect to a photo but this is not easy task to master. I can really add the Bokeh effect by choosing a wide opening but when I am working at close range, I prefer the f/2.2 aperture. I get better results.

At f/1.8 if you are trying for some close range shots, your depth of field is a few inches and you can easily get your subject out of focus. Trying to figure out exactly where the blurred effect start and finish is tricky. I have an ample numbers of photos that testify that I need more practice at this.

The second fact I like about this lens, it’s cheap because it’s manual only. Yes you read right, manual only. I think it’s good to remember from time to time that some tings are not automatic …… and if the photo is blurred, I cannot blame the camera.

X-464

Nikon 50 mm f/2.2 @1/4000 s, ISO 160

X-461a

Nikon 50 mm f/2.2 @1/1600 s, ISO 160

X-453

Nikon 50 mm f/2.2 @1/2500 s, ISO 160

X-447a

Nikon 50 mm f/1.8 @1/3200 s, ISO 160

4 thoughts on “Cemetery

    1. It is not a lens that I use often but when I use it I really work on the quality of the results rather than the quantity of photos taken

      Like

Leave a Reply

