2014 Scotties Tournament of Hearts

Curling is very popular in English Canada but not so much in Quebec. In 2014, the women canadian championship (Scotties Tournament of Hearts) was held at the Maurice-Richard Arena in Montreal. This was the occasion to buy some tickets and watch in action the best women curlers of Canada (and probably in the world). I was there on the opening week-end.

I also jumped on the occasion to take some photos. It was my first that I was taking photos at a sporting event and also my first time with my 70-300 mm lens. I was very green, I had no idea about the shutter speed to use but luckily for me, curling is a slow sport and the event was televised so the lighting conditions in the arena were great. This was definitely a learning experience for me with some mixed results.

The unfortunate thing about taking photos at a sporting event, when you are taking photos, you miss all the action that is not in the camera visor, which means a lot. I missed some of the best shots of the week-end just because I had my eye somewhere.

So, what’s next?

222

Kristin McDonald from Team Carey (Manitoba) and soon-to-be-mom at the time sliding with style

329

Rocking the sponsor

058

No one was brushing as hard as Joanne Courtney from Team Sweeting (Alberta)

372

A classic at curling “Hard, Hard”

228

2013 and 2014 Team Canada skip, Rachel Homan and 2014 World Champion silver medalist

429

Leave a Reply

